Sex Offender De-Registration Lawyer

Let Solomon Criminal Defense Help You Restore Your Reputation & Good Name

Colorado requires those convicted of sex crimes to register in the sex offender registry. If enough time goes by without any new, disqualifying convictions, you may qualify for sex offender de-registration under Colorado law. Your serious life problems may be caused by your conviction and Megan’s law, the law requiring you to register in the Colorado sex offender registry.

At Solomon Criminal Defense, Attorney Mark Solomon brings over a decade of award-winning defense to helping his clients restore their name and avoid having the specter of a criminal record haunt them for the rest of their lives.

Time Requirements before Filing a Petition

Before we can file a petition for removal from the registry, enough time must have first elapsed since the time of your offense.

CRS § 16-22-113, has the following time requirements:

  • Felony F1, F2, or F3 – 20 years
  • Felony F4, F5, or F6 – 10 years
  • Misdemeanor M1 – 10 years or 5 years
  • Other misdemeanors – Varies by actual conviction and/or order by the court

Conviction Requirements for Sex Offender De-Registration

To be eligible for sex offender de-registration, you must not have any new convictions where the case involved unlawful sexual behavior. Solomon Criminal Defense can examine your original court record, criminal history, and life situation to give you an assessment as to whether you are eligible to petition for sex offender de-registration. If not, you will only be charged for the time spent on researching your case. Otherwise, your retainer will pay for drafting the petition and the hearing on the petition.

Other issues with de-registration

You must also be able to show that you are a “low risk” to re-offend. We will always need a new Offense Specific Evaluation (OSE) to show the judge you are “low risk.” If you cannot get a “low risk” evaluation, your petition to de-register is not likely to succeed.

Megan’s Law Limits Your Life

When required to register under Megan’s Law, you may not live close to certain places, you may be ineligible to attend certain functions or pick up kids from schools. You do not need an attorney to educate you on the many ways being required to register on a sex offender registry is bad for you. However, a qualified attorney can help you better understand how to repair your life and avoid Megan’s Law from ruining your future.